h1

Word 2007: Outline numbering

September 23, 2008

Another thing Word 2007 has hidden very well from power users is outline numbering. You used to access it from the Styles and Formatting task pane, but don’t try that in Word 2007 otherwise none of your numbered headings will connect to each other! And there’s no easy way to see what to do to get it working.

However, help is at hand in various Microsoft forum posts and replies by some Microsoft Word MVPs. Go to http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us, select Office, then the Office version you’re using, then filter by Word. Search for phrases such as ‘outline numbering for headings’, ‘outline numbered styles’ etc. and you should find what you’re looking for (I used to have links to some good ones, but Microsoft keeps changing their website so the links no longer work).

BTW, Microsoft MVPs are unsung heroes in my book. They are not employees, they don’t get many benefits, and they volunteer their time freely. All the ones I know, or whose names I regularly see in forums, contribute an enormous amount of time and effort for little or no benefit to them. They’ll test things and report their findings, and they do it all for free. Congratulations guys—Microsoft should reward you handsomely for eliminating many of their support calls!

See also:

[Links last checked March 2014]

7 comments

  1. After I create a new multi-level list style, how do I make it available to me in a new Word document?


  2. […] Word 2007: Outline numbering (7,673) […]


  3. […] Word 2007: Outline numbering […]


  4. Thanks, Rhonda! I had my template all nice in Word 2003, and now my headings are numbered lists not outline numbered. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction to fix it, as I was pulling my hair out.
    Love, Jeanne


  5. Glad to help, Jeanne!


  6. […] This set of steps ONLY works if you use automated outline numbering for your heading styles. This post does not describe how to set that up (instead see the links in this post: https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2008/09/23/word-2007-outline-numbering/). […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.