Changes to Australian federal government departments

July 11, 2022

With each change of state and federal government after an election (particularly when the other party wins the election), invariably departments are amalgamated, added, disbanded, or functions from one department now come under another, and/or department names are changed. For the government departments related to the areas I work in (environment, water, energy, agriculture, in particular), the list below details the changes to the Australian government departments as at 1 July 2022:

  • Former Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment (DAWE) ==> split into Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (DCCEEW) and Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF)
  • Former Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources (DISER) ==> becomes Department of Industry, Science and Resources (DISR); the Energy function goes to DCCEEW
  • (new) Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (DEWR; not to be confused with the old DEWR abbreviation used for the former Department of Environment and Water Resources)
  • Former Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communication (DITRDC) ==> becomes Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communication and the Arts (DITRDCA)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: