h1

Visio: Error 920

September 12, 2014

This post is for me, as I’ve had this happen a couple of times now, and because I use Visio only a few times a year, I keep forgetting what I had to do to fix it last time!

BTW, reports of this error have been occurring since Visio 2002 and it’s still not fixed!

Symptom

You get an error 920 message when trying to save a Visio file as a GIF, JPG, PNG etc.

Solution options

There are two possible reasons that I found for this error:

  • One or more objects are outside the Visio workspace. The solution is to select all objects, zoom out, and see if any of the selections are off the page. See here for details: http://alstechtips.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/error-920-occurred-during-action-save.html
  • The resolution is set too high. To prevent fuzzy text in Visio (see the links below), when I save as an image format, I set the resolution to ‘Printer’, which might be 1200 x 1200 pixels/in. or 600 x 600 pixels/in. Sometimes, the image will save at that, but sometimes it won’t and you’ll get the 920 error message, so I select ‘Custom’ and drop the resolution down (e.g. to 600 x 600 if it was 1200; to 400 x 400 if it was 600). The ‘save as’ usually works then, but if it still spits the error, try dropping the resolution some more.

visio_920

See also:

[Links last checked September 2014]

4 comments

  1. If all else fails, select all items in your current Visio diagram and copy them into a new Visio file, and save that. It was the only thing that worked for me.


  2. usefull,I also get the same error:
    In Visio 2007 Pro I imported a 2010 Visio stencil, when I use forms from this stencial and tried to save as .JPG o TIFF I got the error even if all forms are inside the page, it seems the problem is having diferent resolution forms mixed.
    Work-aroud works fine


  3. Thanks, I’m new to Visio, so I just keep making mistakes, this was very usefull.


  4. Use other programs like PDF24 or PDFCreator to save the virtual printer. Works.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.