h1

Windows 10: Reduce size of search box on taskbar

August 10, 2019

I have a lot of icons on my taskbar, so when I started using Windows 10, I got frustrated with the amount of space taken up by things I didn’t want, like the Cortana icon, the Task View button, and the big search box.

I wanted to reduce the size of the search box and found this very short YouTube video that shows you how: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eue0nMG9diQ

In case that video ever goes missing, here’s what to do:

  1. Right-click in any blank space in the task bar (or in the search box itself).
  2. The active items have a check mark next to them—click the ones you don’t want. You may have to repeat these steps for each one you want to remove/add. I got rid of the Cortana and Task View buttons.
  3. Next was the Search box. Repeat Step 1, but this time go to Search > Show Search Icon to reduce the search box to a magnifying glass icon. You can hide it altogether if you want to.

You can restore the search box the same way, if you want it back. But if you’ve set the Taskbar settings to show small icons only, then you won’t see the option for the search box until you turn that setting off (right-click in the task bar, select Taskbar Settings, then turn Use small taskbar buttons off).

 

10 comments

  1. Thank you… this is exactly what I was trying to do and it worked!


  2. Thanks, the search box was making the task bar fill far too much of my screen!


  3. Thanks!!!


  4. This is not a resize, this is a change to a magnifying glass icon.
    What i want is half the size of the original.


  5. Right click on the taskbar then go to “search” and choose “show icon only” will remove the search bar and replace it with a magnifying glass icon.


  6. I wrote a song about you , wanna hear it, here it go…
    “Did you ever know that you’re my hero?”

    I was living in Cortana and task bar pergatory for too long.
    And I am an IT guy! thanks..


  7. Thank you!!


  8. Thanks!!!


  9. Great! This is what I want exactly. I am frustrated with big size search box taking up whole task bar. Thanks.


  10. Thanks – very helpful



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.