PowerPoint: Not all AutoCorrect entries are listed

September 30, 2015

This is a strange one that’s easily fixed, but only once you know how!

I set up Office 2013 on my new laptop and transferred all my ACL files from my PC to the laptop — ACL files are the AutoCorrect entries, and I have an extensive list. When I checked in Word, Excel, and Publisher, they were all listed. Outlook doesn’t list any AutoCorrects, but they still work with Outlook. However, PowerPoint only listed the ones that were just letters; it didn’t list those I had prefixed with a period. (See this post for why I use a period in front of many of my AutoCorrect entries: https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/word-use-the-power-of-autocorrect-to-save-heaps-of-time/)

I thought this was a bug in PowerPoint 2013, but when I checked another computer with PowerPoint 2010 on it, I saw the same thing. Hmmmm…

I was about to post to the Microsoft Answers forum to see if anyone knew why, and how I could get my extensive collection of AutoCorrects back without re-entering them. But before I did that I figured it cost nothing to just try one and see if it worked anyway — and it did!

Not only did the AutoCorrect work, but when I looked at the list after using one, they were ALL listed.

So the solution is to type one of your AutoCorrects in your PowerPoint presentation. It will work and all those with period prefixes will now be listed (under File > Options > Proofing > AutoCorrect Options).



  1. Hi Rhonda

    I followed through on the link in your latest missive to check out the use of a full stop (period, if you must!) in AutoCorrect – good call! – and then I came upon the use of AutoCorrect for commonly used notations with subscripts. Wow, thanks a million, I’d never thought of using Auto Correct for such things. Careful subscripting (and you have to be careful!) drives me mad when I am doing it 3 or 4 times in a paragraph! However I deal with lots of quantities formatted in such a manner, for example d50 (the particle size in a sample where 50% of the particles are smaller – of course ‘50’ can be any number you like, such as d10 for 10% finer, d25 for 25% finer, etc. This wouldn’t be so bad except we use a similar notation with several other letters, such P10 (a 10% probability level), P50 (a 50% probability level, t50 (the time for the primary consolidation of a soil to be 50% complete and so on). Similarly, we commonly have to raise an algebraic quantity to a power by using a superscript. Is there a way we can use wildcards in conjunction with Autocorrect to generate such quantities? If it could handle both the identifying letter and the subscript/superscript it would be really handy!

    Another related question: The Word keyboard short cuts for subscript and superscript is CTRL + ‘=’ and CTRL + SHIFT + ‘+’ respectively but these don’t work in Excel! Why not and are they any alternatives that do work in Excel (it’s even more cumbersome typing subscripts and superscripts in Excel than it is in Word)



  2. Hi Charles

    There are a couple of places to start:
    * https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/word-macro-to-run-multiple-wildcard-find-and-replace-routines/
    * https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2009/08/06/word-replace-text-containing-superscript-and-subscript-characters/

    I’ll also contact you offlist about a macro I have that may be able to help.

    As far as Excel goes, I hardly ever use it, so I’m not sure what it can and can’t do. I do know that some basic functions like copy and then paste multiple times don’t work, even after all these years!


Leave a Reply

