Word: Jump back to a link

March 17, 2014

If you Ctrl+click on an automated cross-reference to jump to the target location in your Word document, did you know that you can go back to your previous location by pressing Alt+left arrow key?

And if you’ve jumped to several cross-reference locations one after the other, pressing the Alt+left arrow key multiple times will take you back through the cross-references you clicked in reverse order.

BONUS: Pressing Alt+right arrow key straight after you’ve pressed Alt+left arrow will take you back to the previous location!

Super quick and easy, but another of Word’s ‘hidden’ keyboard shortcuts.


[Thanks to Paula R for sharing this with me]

See also:


  1. Thank you once again, Rhonda! I knew there had to be a way to do that.
    I will repost in my blog and send to 250 Oxy employees in my email blast.
    Love, Jeanne

  2. Oh Rhonda! If only…! I’ve just finished reviewing a 700 page report, which was ‘alive’ with hundreds of automated cross-references! I knew that there had to be a way to back-track on them, but instead I was always noting page numbers and then rolling back manually. It made me quite cross actually, as the report organisation wasn’t all it could be, consistency-wise.
    Ah well – next time!

  3. Ah, this is so great Ronda. I normally use Split screen to keep my original location. But this is even better. Love all of your tips.

    Thank you.

  4. As noted previously, a great tip! However, as you might expect, it doesn’t work in Adobe Acrobat! Any idea if there is a similar shortcut for AA?

  5. Hi Charles

    I just PDF’ed one of our corporate docs, then tested the Ctrl+click thing on a link (e.g. from the TOC or a link to a table or figure), then pressed Alt+Left Arrow key and it jumped back! So it worked for me.


  6. Hey Presto! You’re right, Rhonda. The important difference to what I was doing before was I wasn’t pressing the Ctrl key when I clicked the reference link – That way I can get to the reference point but I can’t get back again! I wonder why they designed it that way?

    Thanks for your help – I’ll make it a point to always press the ‘Ctrl’ key every time from now on.



  7. Hi Rhonda, Thank you very much. I will say this is a life saving tip for someone who reviews only plan and report.

Leave a Reply

