Windows Media Player: Display album art at full size

January 8, 2013

I hate it when software wants to think for you and decides to display something the way IT wants to and not the way YOU want to. Windows Media Player (WMP) is a case in point — it displays album art at a reduced size and there’s no setting I could find to get it to display it at full size.

However, I was able to find a forum post (see the 06 August 2012 entry) that tells you how to change the Windows Registry to force WMP to display album art at full size. Unfortunately, that post left a few steps out, so here they are in full.


  • Before starting this process, make sure you are comfortable with editing the Registry; back up the Registry first in case you make a mistake.
  • These instructions are for Windows 7, but once you’re in the Registry of your Windows operating system they should work for earlier versions of WMP too; however, I haven’t tested these instructions on earlier Windows operating systems, so do this at your own risk.

Edit the Registry to display WMP album art at full size

  1. Close Windows Media Player if it is open.
  2. In Windows 7, click the Start button and type Run in the search box.
  3. Select Run from the Programs list. This opens the Run dialog box.
  4. Type regedit in the Open field, then click OK.
  5. If asked about allowing access, click Yes. The Registry Editor window opens.
  6. In the left pane, expand these nodes: Computer > HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Microsoft > Media Player > Preferences.
  7. Click on the Preferences node to display the settings in the right pane.
  8. In a blank area on the right pane, right-click and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
  9. New Value #1 is added at the end of the long list of settings.
  10. Change this name to PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected.
  11. Double-click to open PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected.
  12. Type 0 (zero) as the Value data then click OK.
  13. Still in the settings list, find the entry for ShowAlbumArt. Double-click it to open it and set its value to 1. Click OK.
  14. You should now have two added/revised settings entries — one for PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected with a value set to 0 and one for ShowAlbumArt with its value set to 1 (see yellow highlighted lines in the screen shot below).
  15. Close the Registry Editor window.
  16. Re-open Windows Media Player — your album art should now show at full size.

[Links last checked January 2013]


  1. Thanks this help me a lot :)

  2. when i open wmp, it changes ShowAlbumArt back to 0…

  3. ShowAlbumArt back to 0 after opening WMP and default album image is displayed. If I switch the display to other then back to album art, small album art image is back, and WMP set PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected to 1.

  4. I’ve had the same problem with WMP automatically resetting the registry edits. Suggestions?

  5. Make sure you spelled PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected correctly. I forgot to use the right participle at first and only wrote select at the end which caused an constant overwrite to ShowAlbumArt any time I re-opened WMP. I fixed that and it worked just fine.

  6. Btw, don’t switch to any other visualization mode since it’ll reset all registry entries to their default setting.

  7. thank you so much ^_^ it worked :))

  8. thanxxxxxxxxxxx it works …………………………….

  9. hello

    Thanks it works but I’ve a problem , i want to change the color of windows media (I have it in grey color like in this picture : http://oi59.tinypic.com/2j5mio5.jpg and I want to change in black color) but I can’t change the color of window media, in “ameliorations” then “video parameters” ( I can move the curser to right & left but he still return automatically in the middle )

    can you help me please ?

  10. I rarely use Media Player and know little about it. I searched this for my husband, and posted it in case I needed to know how to do it again.

  11. Stop WMP
    also stop “media player network sharing service”

    REGEDIT : the preferences of WMP
    ShowAlbumArt = 0
    PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected = 1

    Restart WMP

  12. thanks, this one helped a lot :)

  13. Thanks so much for this fix. I had started to use MusicBee but it doesn’t import Composers, so I switched back to WMP – but hated the downsized artwork in WMP. Question: Could the WMP album art be enlarged even further if PlayerModeAlbumArtSelected = 2?

  14. Thank you so much. I really appreciate this.

  15. Your trick was working with me for the mp3 files, but for the itunes file (m4a), it is not working. The size of album art is automatically decreased

  16. Hi, Just to let you know that I think you are a God. I upgraded to Windows 7 and was most distraught that I had to suffer small album art. You have made an old man very happy, STUFF YOU MICROSOFT!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. it works man.. Thanks !

  18. freaking genius, thank you. always thought it was stupid they didn’t have a setting for it.

  19. as far as “LargeAlbumArtSize=:ffffffff” registry entry, where and what type? There isnot one by default that I can find.

  20. hi,i am very happy that your trick is working.

  21. hi, can you help me for windows 8.1
    can go till Microsoft but do not find Media Player > Preferences

  22. Sorry, I can’t help as I don’t use Windows 8.1. Maybe someone else following this thread knows??


  23. I’ve used this for Windows 7 sucessfully for a long time and find it works for Win 8.1 Pro perfectly as well. Thank rhonda for posting.

    @Eddy Dewispelaere: Access the regedit by searching in [Charms] or right-click the [Windows] button and select [run] and follow from step 4.
    The registry entries for Win 8.1 are identical for this to those in the Windows 7 description posted at point 6.

  24. I am making this comment for those who are desperate for solution and I can say that I finally found it, without the need of changing the registry (since this didn’t work for me.). There is a program called Mp3tag. It is co-existing with WMP and when you insert art there it stays in the full size. https://gyazo.com/ad8bd38cc542c68ce8a9c00a2022a630

  25. That’s an excellent suggestion, WewLad. I find Mp3tag works perfectly for .mp3 files across Win 7, 8.1 and 10, in a manner which is fully compatible with WMP. I have found, though, that it will embed album art for .flac files too but WMP might dump the file’s tags afterwards, especially if the registry entries haven’t been changed.

  26. Thanks a lot :)))

  27. WewLad, you do you set-up Mp3tag and WMP to show the large cover art? I installed Mp3tag (latest version 2.75) on Windows 10, embedded a cover art at 700×700 under View->Extended Tags->Cover->Add cover… to my mp3 files. Then I run WMP, but it still shows the small 240×240 cover art, not the one I embedded with Mp3tag. I also tried editing the registry, it works but the cover art is not centered and when I resize the window, it starts cropping on the bottom and right side while there is still a margin on the left and top sides.

  28. I tried everything but it didn’t work!

Leave a Reply

