ASTC (NSW) annual conference

October 24, 2012

Next week I fly to Sydney to attend and speak at the annual ASTC (NSW) conference (conference details here: http://astcnsw.org.au/training-and-events/conference/conference-2012-emerging-and-evolving/).

I’ve presented at this conference before, in 2006 and 2008. It’s a smallish conference with a single stream of presentations, so everyone gets to know each other. Of course, many of the NSW people already know each other, but for speakers like me who come from further afield, it’s good to be able to put faces to names and to meet most of the participants.

This year I’m doing two presentations, one on editing and one on working from home (telecommuting).

My good friend Dave Gash is coming over from the US to speak at this conference too (after speaking at the TCANZ conference in NZ this week), and Hamish Blunck is also speaking. Hamish and I have had quite a few phone conversations and email discussions over the years, and he was my replacement at a Brisbane-based company I worked for. Despite all our connections (we also follow each other on Twitter), Hamish and I have never met, so it will be good to meet him.

I’m also looking forward to catching up with ASTC (NSW) members whom I’ve met at previous conferences.

My thanks go to Janet Taylor who has been my liaison for the conference — her organizational skills have been invaluable in making this all happen.

Leave a Reply

