Word: Styles pane completely blank

August 16, 2012

I got a document from one of my authors yesterday. It was a mess in all sorts of ways. I applied the correct template and set the styles to update automatically (then turned that off again almost immediately). But no matter what I did, I couldn’t see any styles listed in the Styles pane (Word 2007), or in the drop-down box of styles I have on the Quick Access Toolbar. The styles showed in the big icons in the Styles group on the Home tab and I could apply, modify them etc. from there. But I like using the Styles pane. I was baffled.

When I opened the document this morning, the Styles pane was still blank. I clicked the Options link at the bottom of the blank Styles pane, but that just said that All Styles were set to show, despite none showing at all.

I tried saving the doc as an RTF doc, then resaving it back to a DOCX doc. That didn’t work. So I went back to that Options link.

This time I selected Recommended as the styles to show, and suddenly the styles all displayed as they should.

I have no idea why none of the styles would show when All Styles was selected, but changing it to Recommended fixed the problem for me.


Leave a Reply

