Office 2010: Paste Options button not displaying

April 12, 2012

I have a new computer and I’ve installed Office 2010 on it. I was setting up a template for a client over the Easter weekend when I noticed that the hovering Paste Options button in Word 2010 never displayed and all I could get on the Paste icon on the ribbon was ‘paste as unformatted text’. That’s not usually a big deal as I often want to ‘paste as text’, but not always.

I compared my Word 2010 settings on my new Windows 7 PC with my Word 2010 settings on my Vista laptop (which did have the Paste Options hover button); the settings were EXACTLY the same, so something else was at play here.

Off to my friend Google, and after a few fruitless hits, I found the solution… and it’s not what you’d expect! In fact, it’s so far removed from what you’d expect that I’m surprised the person who found the answer even twigged that a small setting in Program A might be affecting a small setting in Program B (Word 2010 in my case, but all the Office 2010 products too).

And what’s the solution? A Skype add-on to all browsers that makes a phone number clickable to make a Skype call! Who knew??

So here’s what I did to get my Paste Options button back:

  1. Closed Word 2010.
  2. Opened Skype, went to Tools > Advanced > Advanced Settings and cleared the check box for Use Skype to call callto: links on the web. (I’m not 100% sure that this did anything, but I figured I should turn it off anyway.)
  3. Opened Firefox and went to the Add-ons Manager and disabled the Skype Click to Call add-in. Restarted Firefox when asked to do so.
  4. Opened Internet Explorer, clicked the settings icon (cog in top right of screen in IE9), selected Manage add-ons, selected Skype Click to Call and then clicked Disable. I didn’t have to restart IE9.
  5. Opened Word 2010 and tried pasting some text from another source. It worked! I had my Paste Options button back!

Please note: You have to disable this add-on in ALL browsers on your computer, including IE, even if you don’t use IE. I initially only disabled it on Firefox but I still couldn’t get the Paste Options button to display. I had to disable it on IE9 as well. Then it worked.

I found the solution to this issue here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/office/forum/office_2010-excel/solved-excel-2010-word-2010-powerpoint-2010-paste/f293995c-c52c-458a-86d6-da41e81d507f

I sincerely thank Martin who somehow figured out that a Skype browser add-on was affecting a setting in Office 2010. That was a moment of pure serendipitous genius.


  1. I had the same issue with Office 2003 and followed the same kind of route to the same solution. (I have stuck with 2003 on a personal basis since my 16:9 screen on the laptop does not provide enough space for the ribbon interface which adds nothing to the all functions I use as a tech writer).

  2. Thanks for the solution – I had exactly this problem with Office 2010 (Word and Excel) and an update to the latest version of the Skype add-on solved it.

  3. This solution is highly appreciated

  4. Man you just saved me so much turmoil at work, I was getting panicky cause a lot of my work involves gathering information form other documents and when it wouldn’t paste a table as a table or just anything else well…you get me, anyway thanks man. And to Martin, your status just got elevated to life saver.

  5. OMG – thank you! thank you! thank you!! My work has been suffering for WEEKS now because of the difficulty of reformatting text and tables that I wanted to copy and paste. Both my MSWord and Excel are operating properly now! And what’s better is that I no longer have to be annoyed by skype asking me if I want to call random numbers on websites I visit. 100 times THANK YOU!!!!

  6. Phenominal advice. This worked! Thank you so much!!!!!

  7. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I was going mad.

  8. Thanks!!! Reposted that on FB

  9. Amazing – thanks!

  10. Thank you.

  11. Thank you soooooo much. I have spent hours at work trying to solve this paste problem!!

  12. thank you so much!

  13. holy shit that actually worked

  14. This was a lifesaver for me too, thanks so much!

    A quick note that may help someone else: I think the only step that is really necessary is to disable Skype Click to Call in IE9. I did only that step and copy/paste started working immediately in Word 2007.

    On this system, Skype Click to Call was incompatible with the current version of Firefox (13.0.1), and I left it enabled in Chrome (19.0.1084.56 m) with no ill effects.

  15. U r awesome. This solution works. Disabling Lync addin solved the issue. Thanks :)

  16. THANK YOU SO MUCH! This has been driving me crazy for months. You are a lifesaver.

  17. You saved me!! Many thanks!!!

  18. There are no enough words to thank you for this!!!!

  19. This was a lifesaver! However, I didn’t need to go through all the steps in Skype – just disabling the Skype click-to-call add-on in IE was enough (so it must be a Microsoft-specific problem – surprise surprise!!!)

  20. Extremely grateful to you for this solution. The problem had been really irritating me for a long while now!
    I have another problem with my keboard. My Ctrl keys don’t function properly. The left Ctrl key does not work for highlighting text (Shift + Ctrl + right/left cursor) and neither for any of the Ctrl + Z/X/V functions. Same with the right Ctrl key except that it works for highlighting text when used with right Shift key only.

  21. Hi Sudipta

    Have you tried another keyboard? Does it happen with that one too? I suspect your keyboard has a faulty Ctrl key and may need to be replaced or just cleaned thoroughly (perhaps a piece of fluff/dust is caught under that key thus preventing full contact).


  22. Thanks for the tip…i would never have come to that conclusion but it works, word is now working. As others say your a lifesaver.

  23. Hi Rhonda,
    Thanks for the response!
    I am sorry I missed mentioning that I work on a laptop. And I do maintain my laptop well and clean the keypad regularly. :)
    So I believe that this is not just a dust problem!


  24. Hi Sudipta

    Are you able to contact the help desk for the laptop manufacturer? Sometimes they know the answer. I had a Dell years ago where a certain key (s, I think) stopped responding. They replaced the laptop keyboard at no charge within 24 hours.


  25. Thanks for this. Who knew?!! Had the same problem on a Vista/Word 2010. Followed the instructions with the Skype extensions, and now have three paste options for my right-click!

  26. Thank you so much for posting this instruction. This was driving me crazy!!

  27. THANK YOU SO MUCH! I was so frustrated!!!!!

  28. Hola a todos, solo deben de descargar la nueva versión de SkypeClicktoCall de skype.
    Les dejo el enlace: (http://download.skype.com/toolbars/SkypeClicktoCall.exe).

  29. Thank you. I was at the brink of crying from not being able to find solutions. You are my hero.

  30. Thanks this helped me solve the same issue of MS excel 2010 in two PCs of my friends..

  31. Does anyone know if the new Google Hangout upgrade is affecting the copy/paste feature? I’m having the same issue but don’t have Skype installed on my work computer :(

  32. I had the same problem and no Skype installed, no Adds-In of any sort but still copy/paste worked within same sheet but not between different sheets.

    I found the solution to my problem.

    The sheet where the copied content must go have a “worksheet.calculate” on the “worksheet_Activate” event.

    The calculate cancels the copied content from the clipboard and therefore there is no paste possible!

    Maybe this could also help someone where other solutions might not be helpful.

Leave a Reply

