Windows: Get rid of the unused desktop icons message

January 9, 2012

I think this might only apply to Windows XP as I can’t recall seeing a similar message in Vista.

One of the small annoyances is the little popup that appears every so often telling me I have unused icons on my desktop and do I want to delete them.

Well, no, I don’t. I know what I have on my desktop and I’m happy with that arrangement. I don’t use every program every day, and some programs I may not use for a couple of months. That doesn’t mean I want to get rid of the icons for those programs!

I got the popup again last week for at least two days in a row. And I decided to find out how to get rid of it for good. With the help of Google and HowToGeek.com (http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows/stop-the-annoying-there-are-unused-icons-on-your-desktop-popup-balloon/), I shut the thing up — hopefully forever!

Here’s how…

  1. Right-click in a blank area of your Windows desktop.
  2. Select Properties.
    Right-click on the Desktop and select Properties
  3. On the Display Properties window, select the Desktop tab.
  4. Click Customize Desktop.
    Desktop settings
  5. On the Desktop Items windows, clear the Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days check box.
    Clear the Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard check box
  6. Click OK as many times as necessary to exit these windows.

[Links last checked January 2012]

Leave a Reply

