WritersUA Conference, 2011: Day Three

March 17, 2011

This week I’m attending the WritersUA Conference in Long Beach, California. I’ll try to write short notes on all sessions I attend and post them on this blog. However, as there may be five sessions on at once, I cannot cover everything! NOTE: All commentary is MY OPINION and does not reflect the opinion of anyone else at the conference.


Unlike previous years, my final day was shorter than usual, and I only attended one session, and that was a session where I was one of the ‘Lab Experts’.

In the first time slot there wasn’t anything that particularly interested me, so I spent some more time checking out SmartDocs with Bryan Lynn.

Next, I was the Microsoft Word expert in the Microsoft Lab. I was able to solve a few problems for some people, but not every problem (sometimes it’s hard to figure out what’s going on in a document without seeing it). And I helped one guy discover the answer to what he wanted to do in PowerPoint — he wanted to add his own sound/voiceover to an animated bullet, and I was able to figure out how to do that. My time in the Lab went well over, so by the time I got out it was time for lunch. I didn’t get a chance to see the peer showcase, and, as I needed to be down near San Diego later in the day, I decided to head out before the final keynote to avoid traffic issues and particularly to avoid driving at night.

So that was it for this year’s WritersUA.

Someone said early on that this conference was like having an annual family reunion — and that’s just what it’s like, but without the dysfunction and the fighting that often accompanies family get togethers! ;-)

Many many thanks to Joe Welinkse and his team of awesome helpers who make this conference run so smoothly.

And thanks to the Hyatt Long Beach who, unlike many other top hotels, have stepped into the 21st Century by allowing two people sharing a room to have two logins to the internet connection for that room.



  1. That was me… the one who started the “our once a year family reunion!”

    You missed a great finale. Adam, from Groupon, delivered an amusing (yet informative) keynote. Complete with visuals that included Joe! :)

  2. […] Rhonda Bracey has posted great summaries of day one, day two and day three. […]

Leave a Reply

