Word 2007: Show the Developer tab

November 22, 2010

Several of my Word 2007 blog posts have mentioned the Developer tab, but I realized I’ve never written a specific post on the steps to display it. So here goes…

  1. Click the large Microsoft Office button  (in the top left of the window).
  2. Click Word Options.
  3. Click Popular.
  4. Select the Show Developer tab in the Ribbon check box.
  5. Click OK.

See also:


  1. Once you have the Developer tab enabled, you are about to find out what can be done there even if you don’t actually need it :)
    That’s my experience at least. Thanks for sharing!

  2. […] to the Developer tab> Code group and click the Macros […]

  3. […] to the Developer tab. (Here’s how to turn it on in Word 2007 and Word […]

  4. havbing a problem in Word 2007 on Windows 7/64 bit. I’ve enabled the Developer ribbon – it won’t display for any new or existing docs. I needed to insert check boxes into a form, so had to resort to adding the ‘legacy tools’ icon onto Word’s Quick Access bar. Any ideas on why my Developer Ribbon remains hidden?
    Cheers, Kirk

  5. Hi Kirk

    I have no idea. My setting has held for a couple of years now.

    I’m using Word 2007 on a Vista 64-bit system (however, my Office installation is the 32-bit version as there were issues with the 64-bit version of Office [see https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/gee-thanks-adobe/%5D), and Word 2010 (also 32-bit version of Office) on a Win 7 64-bit system.

    I suggest you ask you question over at the Microsoft Answers forum for Word/Office (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us). Someone there may be able to help.


Leave a Reply

