Word 2010: Developer tab

November 9, 2010

I bit the bullet and installed Office 2010 on my laptop last weekend!

The installation went smoothly, though I had expected to be able to run Office 2007 and Office 2010 on the same machine. However, the 64-bit version of Office 2010 I had said it wasn’t compatible with three Office 2007 product installations (e.g. Visio 2007), so I had to uninstall those first.

Anyhoo… whenever I install Office, I have to set up my Word environment. I’m am SO used to having the Developer tab (Word 2007) to hand, that it was one of the first things I wanted to display in Word 2010.

Not so easy. In Word 2007, the check box for displaying the Developer tab is on the General tab of the Word Options window. But that’s not where it is in Word 2010.

It took a few minutes of hunting, but I found it! And it’s in a very logical place too.

To turn the Developer tab on in Word 2010:

  1. Open the Word Options window (you can do this from the File menu [yay! it’s back!!], or by clicking the far right arrow on the Quick Access Toolbar.
  2. Go to Customize Ribbon.
  3. Select the Developer tab check box on the list of Main tabs for the Ribbon.
  4. Click OK.

I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can with customizing ribbons! That was a serious deficiency in Word 2007.


  1. […] Show the Developer tab in Word 2010: https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/word-2010-developer-tab/ […]

  2. […] Go to the Developer tab. (Here’s how to turn it on in Word 2007 and Word 2010.) […]

Leave a Reply

