The technical communicator’s manifesto

June 30, 2010

The delightful Sarah O’Keefe (the lady with all the chocolates at the Scriptorium booth at technical writing conferences) has put together The Tech Comm Manifesto: http://www.scriptorium.com/2010/06/the-tech-comm-manifesto/

I’m not sure of her impetus for doing so, but I love it! I especially love #6:

Editors improve your writing and not your ego. Deal with it.

However, I found #5 a little too close to the bone:

Act like a professional, not like the lead character in Semicolons and Subservience.

While I don’t think I’ve ever acted unprofessionally, I have been guilty of insisting on adherence to certain elements of style. “Apostrophe Nazi”, anyone? ;-)

Thanks Sarah!

[Links last checked October 2011]


  1. Yea, but, why was it a numbered list?

  2. I was having a bad day when I wrote the list. :-)

    And it’s numbered because, erm, let’s see. How about to provide an easy point of reference, as employed by Rhonda here? “I like #6” is much easier than “I like the one about blah blah.”

Leave a Reply

