Measuring screen elements

May 7, 2010

One tool I have in my digital toolbox is a screen ruler. I don’t use it often, but it’s just the handiest thing to have whenever I’m creating websites, measuring an image or other screen element, reviewing a user interface etc.

With a screen ruler, I can measure the size of anything on screen (e.g. the vertical distance between fields on a dialog box, the dimensions of a column of text or an image), or check the alignment of elements (e.g. whether those field boxes line up evenly on the left and right).

I discovered the screen ruler I use some years ago — I found it so useful, I purchased a license to use it. There are others available that are free. Each has slightly different features, so download and evaluate various ones to find one that’s right for you:

JR Screen Ruler in horizontal mode proving that the two fields it's almost covering are not top-aligned

[Links last checked May 2010]

Leave a Reply

