Word: Table row goes to new page

March 30, 2010

A client asked me to check one of their Word documents as a long table row was being forced onto a new page despite them turning on the option to allow the row to break across pages.

The clue to the solution was the little black square off to the left of the text in the left cell of the row — that told me that text had some paragraph settings turned on that might be counteracting the Allow row to break across pages setting. And so it was.

Little black square indicates that there are paragraph settings that apply to this text

When I checked the paragraph settings for the text, both Keep with next and Keep lines together were turned on. As soon as I turned them off, the row split across pages as it should.

You can find those paragraph settings here:

  • Word 2003: Format > Paragraph > Line and Page Breaks tab of the Paragraph window.
  • Word 2007: Home tab > Paragraph group > Dialog Launcher > Line and Page Breaks tab of the Paragraph window.


  1. Hi,

    I have tried the suggested solution, but the problem persists. Using Word 2007. Both Keep with Next and Keep Lines Together have been unchecked.

  2. Brilliant, solved exactly the same problem in my document (Word 2003).

  3. Thanks for the help. This has always been a problem with tables I’ve never know how to fix. Spot on solution!

  4. This way the best! Worked exactly the way I wanted it to! – Note: You may have to do it before and after tweaking formatting but worked like a dream! Many thanks!

  5. Another thing to watch is your margins, especially if you have a table in the footer. Try increasing your bottom margin significantly and then you can work it back down to a reasonable amount once you have found the problem.

  6. Thank you so much for posting this! It was so frustrating, but you provided the perfect solution!

  7. Thank you! Been wondering for ages how to fix this!! :)

  8. Thanks so much for this, I was ready to throw a chair at my screen because stupid Word would keep bumping my tables across pages.

  9. Thank you! Much appreciated. You have saved me much frustration

  10. Thank you so much for this tip! I was really getting frustrated that I couldn’t get this working right.

  11. Thank you so so much for this!!!! I spent half an hour figuring out this issue on a template and this resolved it!!

  12. thanks. worked for me.

  13. Thanks so much! I can’t tell you how long I was fighting with this issue! Lifesaver :)

  14. Thanks for this. Solved my problem exactly in Word 2013.

  15. Thanks! I saw the little square, and I deactivated the “Keep with next” option as well. Worked like a charm!

  16. On Word 2010, I also had to unselect the “specify height” box before the cell would split across pages.

  17. thank you for the note regarding unselecting “Specify Height” box. This worked on an issue that I’ve been trying to figure out for years!

Leave a Reply

