Hard reboot of a notebook computer

March 1, 2010

My main client supplies me with a Lenovo ThinkPad notebook computer for their work. It’s very locked down, so when I needed to install a printer driver the other day, I had to get a special Local Admin access code from the IT Support people, and let the notebook restart using that code.

Problem was, the notebook turned itself off but wouldn’t restart. After some minutes, I pressed the on/off button a few times but got nothing. The battery and power lights were on but that was it.

So I called Support again and described the problem. They suggested holding down the on/off button for 5 seconds or more. Nope. That didn’t work either. Next step was to remove the notebook’s battery then put it back in again. Remove the battery? Why? Well, it seems that removing the battery and then reinserting it does a ‘hard reboot’ of the machine.

I pressed the on/off switch again, and it worked!

Leave a Reply

