h1

Spring cleaning

October 11, 2009

It’s spring in Australia and it was time for me to clean the insides of my computer. Back in January, I’d promised myself that I’d do it every 3 months or so. Well, it was 9 months before I got around to it (slap self upside the head!). It’s only a small job, but for some reason I kept putting it off.

Even after 9 months the fans were pretty dusty. I also found a fan I’d never seen before lurking under a board –it was CHOKED with dust as I suspect it’s never been cleaned in the 3+ years I’ve had the machine. So out came the damp cloth, the tatty old artist’s paintbrush, a can of compressed air and a screwdriver to remove the case. 30 minutes later and it was done.

The main fan (with fins) that needed cleaning; there was also a small fan hiding beneath the red board

The main fan (with fins) that needed cleaning; there was also a small fan hiding beneath the red board

dust02

Even after only 9 months, that fan had plenty of dust

Clumps of dust I removed from that fan alone

Clumps of dust I removed from that fan alone

All nice and clean now!

All nice and clean now!

One comment


Leave a Reply

