Annoying Outlook Express messages even though not using OE!

July 20, 2009

Every so often, I get a message similar to this: “To free up disk space, Outlook Express can compact messages.” I started to see these messages a while ago, and I suspect an automatic Microsoft upgrade is behind them.

The problem is, I don’t use Outlook Express! Ever. And never have. I have full Outlook and Exchange Server, so I’d be happy to not even have Outlook Express on my computer.

These messages keep coming back every so often. I did some hunting around on the internet and I can turn them off for a period of time by resetting a registry key. So that’s what I’m doing each time I get them now. It shuts them up for a while, then when I hit a critical number they start again.

I have NO IDEA why I get these messages or how to get rid of them permanently, but my temporary solution to stop them bugging me for a few weeks is to make this change to the registry (usual warnings apply about editing the registry…):

  1. Open the registry.
  2. Go to:
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-3206996154-1906952813-1596485427-1143\Identities\{E29B5312-28D9-4B83-A362-A80919C2692A}\Software\Microsoft\Outlook Express\5.0
  3. Double-click Compact Check Count.
  4. Type 0 in the Value data field.
  5. Click OK and close the registry editor.

If someone has a solution to get rid of this annoying message once and for all for a non-Outlook Express user, please share it.

Leave a Reply

