h1

Blog post gone viral!

June 23, 2009

When I checked my blog stats after a weekend away, I saw this:

Blog post gone viral!

Blog post gone viral!

I’ve been averaging about 500–600 views per weekday, with about 250–350 on each weekend day, and the pattern is pretty consistent month after month. Not so on Sunday! I had a spike of enormous proportions — some 1650 views for one weekend day!

The reason?

Somebody had linked to one post of mine via StumbleUpon; the post was A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words, the one with the images from the beer company.

I don’t use StumbleUpon and I don’t know who put it out there, but it sure had an effect on my blog stats!

One comment

  1. […] Average views per month: Has increased from around 9000 in January 2009 to around 24,000 per month in December 2009. The reason for this exponential increase? One of my posts got picked up and promoted via StumbleUpon and it continues to be the most viewed of all my blog posts, with most of its traffic coming from StumbleUpon. That post went viral! […]



Leave a Reply

