Windows: No to all

May 1, 2009

If you copy multiple files to another location and files with those names already exist, you get asked to overwrite the existing files. Typically, you have the options of Yes, Yes to All, No, and Cancel.

But there’s usually not a No to All option, yet there are times when that option is exactly what you want. Sure, Cancel works fine in many of these situations, but not always. Sometimes you just want a No to All option.

The good news is that you can get it! It’s a hidden ‘feature’ in Windows. All you have to do is hold down the Shift key as you click No and Windows behaves as though you clicked the (non-existent) No to All button.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: