Yes, yes, yes! Sorry: OK!

February 20, 2009

Gerry McGovern, “…the worldwide authority on managing web content as a business asset”, has written a nice little article on the uselessness of the OK button. Here’s a quote:

The OK button stared out at me, and I thought: ‘This is not OK. You’ve told me that I’ve entered an invalid number. Well, it looks pretty valid to me, and even if it is invalid, as you say, you haven’t told me why. You haven’t told me how I can correct the error of my ways.’

Most times I come across the OK button, something not-OK has happened.

Ah, a man after my own heart! I’ve expounded before on meaningless error messages, and error message choices that are totally unsuitable for the message; hell, I’ve even spoken about them in conference presentations.

You can read Gerry’s entire article here:

[Links last checked July 2008]


  1. […] I click OK on the DynaZip error (no, it’s NOT OK [see previous blog post] but I don’t have any other choice, do I?), I get this indecipherable error message — […]

  2. […] gives me a single option, which is ‘OK’ and that’s NOT OK (see https://cybertext.wordpress.com/2009/02/20/yes-yes-yes-sorry-ok/) […]

Leave a Reply

