Opening new tabs in a browser

December 9, 2008

More from the “I didn’t know that!” category…

For years, I’ve right-clicked on a link on a web page to open it in a new window or new tab. That’s the way someone showed me way back (mid-1990s?) when the web was young and mice started to have right-click options. That’s the way I showed my husband in the late 90s.

Then I came across an article discussing opening links in new tabs or windows, and after all these years I find out that there are two MUCH quicker ways to open a link in a new tab. I’ve tested and confirmed both methods in Firefox 2.x and Internet Explorer 7.x, and have shaken my head and muttered “How come I didn’t know this?”

So I’m sharing, in case you don’t know it too!

  • Method 1 (slightly slower): Hold down the Ctrl key as you click on the link.
  • Method 2 (quickest): Click the wheel on the wheel mouse as you hover over the link.

Both methods open the linked page opens in a new tab. Who’d have thought?


  1. Cool!
    Thanks for sharing the tip.

  2. It is better to open your emails in ‘new’ windows, instead of a new tab. This is because of security reasons.

  3. Email automatically opens in your email application, if you don’t use web-based mail. With newer browsers (IE8?), I believe that new tabs will be automatically ‘secure’ from other tabs; so if one has something nasty, it will only take down that page, not the browser.

Leave a Reply

