Word 2007: Where did everything go?

July 10, 2008

Are you totally confused with where everything is in Word 2007? Then take a look at this Microsoft page where you can hover over the Word 2003 toolbars and menus to find out their Word 2007 equivalents.

For the other Office 2007 products, check the interactive guides and mapping workbooks here:

(The mapping workbooks are Excel spreadsheets that list where it was in Office 2003 and where it is now in Office 2007.)

Example worksheet from the Word 2003 to Word 2007 mapping workbook

Example worksheet from the Word 2003 to Word 2007 mapping workbook

And for something that looks really useful, check out Search Commands for Office 2007 applications from Microsoft’s Office Labs:

You can also try these downloadable ‘Getting Started” add-ons to the Office ribbon for several of the Office products: http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/msoffice/?p=143

[Links last checked June 2009]


  1. […] frustration!) hunting for where they have to go. These locations aren’t listed in the usual Where did everything go resources […]

  2. […] I’m still learning Word 2007, and I had a devil of a time figuring out what happened to it. Microsoft’s Help didn’t help, nor did the ‘where’s everything now’ page on the Microsoft site. […]

  3. I have been attempting to fax a document to an insurance company ALL AFTERNOON! I found the fax set up in my printers and faxes folder, typed the necessary cover page, attached the document … CANNOT SEND A FAX from my Windows 7 computer!!!!
    I recall that I was able to send a fax from Windows 7 (at least I think I would have been able to do so) before switching from Optimum cable to AT&T Wireless. I’ve also changed my printer from an Epson 4-1 to an Epson 3-1 last Spring as my 4-1 died from overuse? Perhaps I was mistaken as today is the first time I have had to send a fax from Windows 7 using Windows Live scan and fax. I have just sent my husband out to Staple’s to send the fax – what FRUSTRATION!!!!! Why, oh why, does Microsoft ‘upgrade’ (that’s a joke) constantly and instead, they downgrade. Not everyone ujpgrades or changes their means of communication with your whims.
    This insurance company will not accept an email, period. I MUST fax this document to them. We just found out that we may not have health insurance as of the first of the year, due to a gross error on the company’s part.
    Please – all I want is to be able to fax as easily as I was able to when I was using Widnows 95, Windows 98, Windows XP, etc. This is very, very aggravating and disconcerting. I NEED A REPLY…

  4. Hi Jeani123

    I don’t have an answer for you, but I just did a search via the Start button on my Vista machine (I don’t have Windows 7) for ‘fax’ and got a few results related to *my* printer and how to set up sending/receiving faxes for it on the PC.

    I couldn’t see anything listed for the old Windows fax services; however, as I’ve never used them, I wasn’t sure what I was looking for.


Leave a Reply

