Opening Windows Explorer to a folder of your choice

March 25, 2008

One of the Windows XP annoyances that irks me is that Windows Explorer opens at My Documents by default. Here’s how to tell Explorer to open where YOU want it to:

  1. Right-click on an Explorer shortcut, then select Properties.
  2. In the Target field, type: %windir%explorer.exe /e, C:

This command opens Windows Explorer at the C: drive; change C: to the drive or folder where you want it to open.

For more information and other switches you can use, see this Microsoft Knowledge Base article:

Update 27 July 2008: In Vista, it’s: %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /e, C:

(I’m using Vista Ultimate—I suspect it’s the same for other versions of Vista)

Update December 2013: Windows 7 is the same as Vista (above).

Update April 2015: Use the methods described here to create a specific folder location and pin it to a Windows 8 or Windows 7 taskbar: http://www.7tutorials.com/how-pin-any-folder-windows-7-taskbar

[This article was first published in the September 2004 CyberText newsletter.]

One comment

  1. I’m on Vista home premium (still XP @ work), and the Vista command works for me. Yay! Now I just need to figure out the rest of my preferences so I can navigate to my directories, rather than Vista think I want everything in “Kirsty”.

Leave a Reply

