h1

Names suiting occupation

October 23, 2013

Sometimes a person’s name was just made for the occupation they have. When I was a kid, the only butcher in my small town was… Mr Butcher! Seriously. And for many years the spokesperson for the Bureau of Meteorology in our state was a Mr Southern.

In last week’s local paper, a veterinary clinic was advertising for a vet nurse, and the names of the top of the ad included a Dr Cockerill and a Dr Bunny ;-)

vet_names

(I couldn’t figure out the odd-looking logo until I looked closely — it’s a paw print [in white] over a red cross, in case you were wondering.)

5 comments

  1. In the UK, New Scientist magazine used to mention such names regularly. They called it “nominative determinism” http://news.bbc.co.uk/today/hi/today/newsid_9664000/9664697.stm.


  2. My former boss, working in a financial company, was called Mr. Cashman. When I had my interview I made very sure not to say his name – I was afraid I’d heard it wrong and he’d think I was making fun of him.


  3. I once had a dentist called Dr. Bridges.


  4. …and I once had a dentist called Mr Payne.


  5. It’s called aptonyms. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aptronym



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

