h1

Firefox Sync Manage Account not visible

September 11, 2013

Ages ago I set up Firefox to sync bookmarks etc. between my main PC and my laptop. It all worked fine. But now I wanted to set up my PC to sync with Firefox on my Android tablet too. I went around in infinite loops trying to get it to work! The PC kept asking me for my recovery key, but every time I followed the Mozilla instructions on how to find it, I came up against a brick wall — there was no ‘Manage Account’ option on my Sync panel under Firefox > Options > Options, and I couldn’t find anything similar on my Android tablet either.

I was ready to give up, but I’m a persistent sod. One of the Google searches I did mentioned something about making sure you are using the same version of Firefox on all your devices. It was time to fire up the laptop, which I haven’t used for a few months. I updated from Firefox v19 to v23 on the laptop, and just for fun, I decided to see if I could see the ‘Manage Account’ button on the laptop’s Firefox installation. And there it was!!!! (I don’t think its appearance had ANYTHING to do with updating Firefox.)

I *think* that I must have set up the sync the first time on that laptop, and therefore the recovery key was accessible from the laptop and not the PC. I saved it to a location on my server, and now will attempt the sync operation with my tablet…

I got a little further with the sync this time — after entering the recovery key on the PC, it said setup was complete, and the Sync panel in the Firefox Options window now shows the ‘Manage Account’ button on my PC too.

However, my tablet is still reporting ‘Waiting for other device…’ I’ll give it another 30 minutes or so as I have an extensive list of bookmarks, etc. About 5 minutes later: The message on the tablet has now changed to ‘Setup complete’ and it tells me that my data is being downloaded in the background.

So it looks like it worked. It was just a matter of going to the correct device to get that recovery key — in this case, my laptop. The process ended being very quick, but I had a lot of frustration trying to figure out what was going on and was going to give up.

firefox_sync

3 comments

  1. i have firefox 24
    manage account is NOT available for me. on either my laptop or workstation. I am frustrated as i can not get my recovery key without finding a button, “manage account”.


  2. Hi William

    Could you have set up the sync on another computer?

    –Rhonda


  3. I had same problem. Could not sync without entering the Recovery Key, but couldn’t get the Key because the Manage Account button was not there on either of my Windows machines. Seems to be a bug in the current Windows version of Firefox (I have version 27.0.1). Fortunately, I have Firefox (version 27.0) on an Ubuntu Linux machine and it had the Manage Account button! So I entered the Recovery Key that I found there into the Windows machine, and it all worked fine.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

