h1

I’ll review your writing

April 28, 2011

I received an email the other day that set out the new communications protocol for a team. I got worried when I read that the person responsible for these glaring errors will be the person doing the reviewing of any material that goes out to the public…

In case you’re wondering what’s wrong with this, take a look at these:

  • Protocol’s: Possessive apostrophe inserted instead of the plural form — it should be protocols.
  • Communications Protocols: Two plurals when only one should be a plural, though you might be able to get away with this one. Personally, I think it should be communications protocol OR communication protocols.
  • Approved by myself: Arrggh! So this person is going to do it alone (which is what ‘by myself’ means)? I think they meant to say that they were responsible for review and approval, in which case it should be approved by me.

When the person doing the reviewing can’t get some basics right in their email, I have to be concerned about the written communications they will approve for public release.

2 comments

  1. The apostrophe s for a plural is pandemic. I really don’t understand why. Ownership or many? How hard is it to run a check on those two possibilities? Sigh.


  2. On your second point, I agree that “you might be able to get away with this one” because “communications” could refer to different communication mediums (print, web, etc.)
    which would make it acceptable to refer to them pluraly.
    I would prefer “Communication Protocols” be used however.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

